#Mamavation Monday: 1/7/13 – Sack Lunches & Schedules

sack lunch

The school uniforms, supplies, and lunch bag have been prepared, and we are ready to get back into the hustle and bustle of normal life.I don’t know about you, but I could simply do a million back-flips (if I knew how) over the start of school this week! I love being a mom, and I adore my son, but this ridiculously long winter break has reminded me of just why I did not go into the field of elementary education.  I am worn out! #Fistbump to the educators who answer “why” & “what happens if” all day long.  Grab your sack lunch, and join me for my  #Mamvation Monday update… 

I am thankful for the return to my household’s normal routine.  This truly aids in my capacity to maintain a consistent workout schedule, as well as plan out the weekly agenda for my family.  I am finding that lists make a huge difference for me: I can cross out what has been done, get a sense of my progress, and view what remains. I challenged myself last Fall to put my personal health and fitness goals at the top of my list (otherwise, they’d get drowned out by the needs of everyone and everything else), and I am continuing this for 2013. I try to keep my lists realistic and attainable, but flexible.  Anyone with a kid can testify to the fact that parents’ schedules mean absolutely nothing to children. Something always comes up. With that in mind, I made the following MUST DO list for my week:

  1. Continue workout regiment – this includes the squats challenge, hazing from Mamavation, Zumba, running, and any other ridiculous torture that finds its way into my life (Have I mentioned how much I hate burpees and mountain climbers? I know that I’ll love the results, but I really hate them right now…)
  2. Locate the remaining needed races for my 13in2013 challenge (I have completed 1, have 8 remaining, and need 4 additional… Ideas are appreciated!)
  3. Create the household menu, shop for necessary items, and prepare as many meals ahead as possible   So far, I have one to cross out already. I’ll give myself a Fistbump on that one.
  4. Complete my pending writing assignments for this week
  5. Take time to send support to other Mamavation applicants (doing this now) 
  6. Complete new playlist for long run days (Feel free to make suggestions)
  7. Make time for a pampering session (Moms often forget to schedule time just for ourselves.  I hope that you will join me in committing to taking better care of yourself, celebrating your accomplishments, and relaxing, so that you are better and stronger for your family.)

I wish you all a wonderful, productive Monday.  I’m off to Zumba!

Note: This post is sponsored by Schick Intuition and hosted by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway.

20 thoughts on “#Mamavation Monday: 1/7/13 – Sack Lunches & Schedules

  1. I love lists! Yours is a great one, and I’m super excited to see that you didn’t forget to add you-time activities like a pampering session. You’re going to ROCK 2013!

  2. I make a list every single day….things I need to do daily, weekly, monthly. It is the only way I can keep up with everything! I also started again with menu planning and shopping accordingly. It makes it so much easier and you save money that way too!

    • I know, right? 🙂
      I am learning more each day about the benefits of lists.I originally thought that things like menu planning weren’t important…ummm hello? What a difference it makes! I am so glad that I started doing this.

Leave a Reply

