Putting Mommy into Timeout

HAPPY FRIDAY!

If your schedule looks anything remotely close to my own, then you cherish the slowed pace of the weekend. There aren’t less things to do; I simply do not have to wake up at the crack of dawn to get them done. I am working on deadlines this weekend, so I will get to curl up with my laptop and my favorite beverages all day and night 🙂

(I totally meant to publish this earlier in the day… umm… yeah…my schedule attacked me, and took over my life for the day 😉  )

I just might fit the definition of helicopter mom. I hover and swirl. My Superkiddo has such severe food allergies that I find it impossible to trust his care to anyone. It is rare that I spend much time away from him. My military, bald genius of a husband travels so much that I almost never want to break away from him. What’s a girl to do?  I found myself wound so tightly because I was constantly consumed with what I perceived my family needed me to be. I realized that I was running ragged.  This Mommy needed a timeout.

I had to start with baby steps.  There was no way that I would completely get away from my household. How could I? Eventually, I learned that I could not be the best wife and mom to my family if I was stressed out, and spread thinly. I have to make time for myself. I have to take a timeout. The rare occasions on which I actually venture out and get away from my nuclear family, are used to enjoy my favorite activities, as well as spend special time with my dearest friends.

I am learning that it isn’t selfish to make time for myself. Timeouts can help me to become healthier, stronger, and better in every area, so that I can manage all of the demands of my life better.

How do you regroup at the end of the week? Do you spend time as a family or couple? Do you find it difficult to make time for just yourself? What can you do for yourself this weekend?

Until next time,
xoxoxo

4 thoughts on “Putting Mommy into Timeout

Leave a Reply

