Sweet Southern Comfort

Hi all! My weekly update is oh, so late. Why? Because I feel like crud 😦  I hope that you aren’t battling the sniffles this week.  If you are, I hope that you are fighting much better than I am! I am dragging today, and woke up yesterday feeling downright gross!

IMG_6083[1]

I didn’t want to get out of the house, but I had a to-do list that appeared to be a mile long. There is rarely much rest for Moms…EVER… so I kept chugging along. One of my stops included a Bible study in the home of a dear friend.  This lovely lady offered crockpot pumpkin spice latte (ya’ll know that I’m a sucker for lattes & all things crockpot!) and blueberry bread pudding. I was in HEAVEN! Spending time with this friend reminded me of comforting afternoons at my grandmother’s house, as well as in the kitchen of a dear family friend.

My grandmother mastered the art of comfort food. If you were battling the sniffles, or just having a bad day, you could always find something warm and welcoming in her kitchen. I very much appreciate the art of pouring love into the dishes that I make. I am learning and testing new recipes these days – some for my severely allergic kiddo, and others just for healthy, alternative fun with friends. The greatest cooking tidbit that I learned from my grandmother, and people like her, was that love can be tasted.  If you simply throw a few ingredients together, and just mindlessly follow a recipe, the end result may taste ok. However, if you focus on each item, and have the best of intentions for the people who will eat the meal, you can create a culinary masterpiece that soothes all the way to a person’s soul.

I have zero plans of cooking much until I no longer feel like crud. I am thinking of great food to prepare when I am feeling better, and I hope that when I prepare these dishes that I can help those who taste them to feel warmth, comfort, and love.

I wish all of you a lovely week!

 

Until next time,

xoxoxo

24 thoughts on “Sweet Southern Comfort

  1. I hope you don’t have strep. My kids have been passing it back and forth for a few weeks. Hubby even got it. Luckily, I haven’t caught it.

    I did just make the perfect comfort food for a sick day, matzo ball soup. Wish I could send you some!

    Feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

