Merry Monday Memories

Happy Monday, loves!

cabbage patchOne of my favorite childhood Christmas memories involved my Little People adopted doll. She had a cloth body, yarn hair, and came with an adoption certificate.  I took my adopted doll everywhere, and loved that I had the opportunity to name, dress, and care for her. These were all the rage, and mostly sold in craft fairs and private parties, before the dolls evolved into Cabbage Patch Kids.  Once the CPK’s came onto the scene, there were commercials galore, and the Little People faded away.  Then we started to see the constant news stories of crazed parents fighting over the limited stock in stores. Thankfully, no one in my family ever stood in line, or dodged flying carts and fists, to buy one.  We were one of the fortunate few who knew store owners, and grabbed them before the crowds started. This was my first introduction to the craziness of commercialized Christmas, and what parents will do to create “magic” on Christmas day.

I thought about all of this goofiness as early as this fall.  We didn’t really see many Thanksgiving decorations in stores this year; Christmas displays went up almost as soon as the Halloween supplies dwindled.  It is understandable that marketers wish to capitalize upon the biggest money maker for the end of the year, but what does it say about all of us when we fall for it?

We are in the final stretch for all of our Christmas festivities around here. We waited until Superkiddo was out of school to start the outdoor decorations.  I am looking forward to seeing my favorite dudes open their gifts, and spend some cuddle time with our favorite holiday movies.  It is so much fun to celebrate holidays with him & the  hubby! Will you have a quiet day at home, or take a destination holiday vacation?  Will you have rooms full of family and friends, or make new traditions?  Whatever your plans may be, I am sure that you will create fond memories, for a splendid holiday this week.  I wish you love, joy, peace… and lots of megawatts in lights & cheer.

Until next time,

xoxoxo

40 thoughts on “Merry Monday Memories

  1. I totally remember the original dolls. How fun.

    I wish we could say we are following the Jewish tradition of Chinese food and a movie on Christmas. Unfortunately, I have two sick kids, so we are going to have pajama and movie day at home.

    Merry Christmas to you and to all who celebrate.

    • This was our 1st year staying home, and it was HEAVEN. When everyone departed, we could curl up in our jammies, and enjoy our own beds 🙂 I have NO IDEA where my dolls are now; I’ve often wondered lol…

    • Oh, no! You should totally get one now, Kelly …maybe not 🙂
      I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your holiday! Given your awesome posts, I am sure that you guys had amazing food

  2. My mom worked as a manager in retail when we were growing up. We were the first of our friends to get CPKs and all the other hot toys each year. I hope your family had a nice Christmas.

    • Oh, man! I’d bet that your mom could share some amazing stories about the madness of Christmas shoppers lol How cool was the premium access for you guy? Sweeeet! All the best to you

  3. That brings back memories, my sister had to have a Cabbage Patch doll the Christmas they were so popular. My mom searched all over and my sister did get one.

  4. I had a CPK when I was little – mine was from a set of international ones you could adopt. I ended up with a Dutch girl with red pigtails and little plastic clogs. I loved the heck out of that thing, and I had no idea how expensive they were for a broke single mom like mine.

  5. I remember those dolls all too well. I wanted one so badly and somehow my parents found one. I loved that doll so much.

    We got my daughter one last year and it was fun to share the memory with her.

  6. Memories – my mom was one that stood in line for a CPK for me. Then years later we had a chance to pick up a Tickle Me Elmo for our daughter, but she was scared to death of him so we put him back on the shelf. Had we known what a hot toy he would be that year, we probably would have bought one, just because, LOL. Have a Happy New Year!

  7. This article is a must save and brings back so many memories. A relative argued me down that Cabbage Patch Dolls were always Cabbage Patch Dolls. You have just become my evidence in winning this argument. Many thanks to you for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

