1st Wednesday and #TechNOThursday

Happy 2014!

I hope that you enjoyed ringing in the New Year with friends, or if you are anything like my family, celebrated with a great night’s sleep.  What do you have planned for 2014? Something new? Something major? A revision? A renovation?  Guess what: every plan, large or small, starts with a single step.  Today is the 1st day of YOUR New Year. Make it count. Make it a great 1st step.

Tomorrow is Thursday, so in our house, we will take care of all of the obligatory items, and then begin TechNOThursday.  We may see a movie with Superkiddo’s friends, or simply have another family game day (Careful: Superkiddo plays a ruthless round of Hi Ho Cherry O!). Whatever the activities, and wherever the day takes us, our primary focus will be on face to face interaction, and fewer distractions from our mobile devices.  I sincerely hope that it can become a movement that spreads to other families and friends. Wouldn’t you love to complete transactions in a store, ride in a car, or talk to someone, without the interruptions from their cell phones? I know that I would.  

texting texting2 texting3

 

Say it with me: PUT DOWN YOUR PHONES, & ENJOY YOUR LIFE!  

 

Wherever today, and the rest of 2014, may take you, I wish you and your family all of the best.
happy new year animated photo: new year happy-new-year-animated-gif-2.gif

Until next time,

xoxo

14 thoughts on “1st Wednesday and #TechNOThursday

  1. What a great idea! We haven’t been so good at this…we have morphed only last year into this tech-heavy family, but we try to change it up – like we’ll all play skylanders or angry birds together!

  2. This is a wonderful idea. I know that we need to do something like this at my house, too! I know that you enjoyed TechNOTThursday a few weeks ago – I will look forward to hearing how it goes over the next several months.

    Have a happy new year.

  3. I love the idea of a day w/out technology. Our kids are to the ages now where they would appreciate the shut down and the time together as a family playing games, watching a movie, etc.

  4. This is such a great idea…..I think I need more of this. As much as I love connecting to “my peeps” I think I sometimes am too busy with my “stuff” to really enjoy those special moments with my family.

  5. This is such a great idea. I often feel overwhelmed with all my social media, blogging, work, personal, etc. techno-obligations. I try to take hours off, never tried a whole day . . . we do have rules around tech at mealtimes (that’s a “no”) and carve out family game time/movie time/etc. when at all possible. I let the phone go when I can (LOVE caller ID) and don’t jump up for every text ping on my phone. I long ago stopped my phone from sounding every time I got a new email . . . I was like a Pavlovian dog, jumping to check at every ping. Maybe we’ll try a techNOThursday sometime soon – thanks for the inspiration!

  6. I don’t think we could do a TechNoThursday in our house. We have days when compromise and drastically reduce our tech use, but with teens and young adults, it’s a bit more difficult than when they were little and I could tell them to put their electronics away.

  7. Our TechNoThursday is Sundays. We do family breakfast, head to church and then just spend the day being together. I love it.

  8. Pingback: Where in the world Wednesday & #TechNoThursday | Just Jeanae

Leave a Reply

