Menu Planning Gets Desperate

Oh, geez. I am sure that I am the only person who has ever done this. I scheduled my Monday post to publish NEXT MONDAY. Seriously brilliant, right? This is what I meant to tell all of you yesterday.  Here goes…

I was looking through planners, checking which events required that I show up dressed in more than yoga pants, and planning out our food choices for this week.  Upon seeing this week’s menu, my son asked, “are you SURE that you want to have a Taco Tuesday?” I wasn’t sure if his response was due to seeing the Lego Movie, or if he just was tired of tacos.  He didn’t have a suggestion for an alternative, so Taco Tuesday it will be. We try to find ways to mix up the menu, and jazz up our food choices here and there, but I dare say that it is quite a challenge to keep things interesting. There are weeks when we get super creative, and then there are meals that would top the list of epic failures. It isn’t always as easy as Ina Garten or B Smith make it look…

This week’s plan:
Monday – Macaroni Monday! (surprise, surprise!) I finally found a way to make vegan cheese NOT taste like dirty socks. I don’t care who you are, or if you have been a lifelong vegan, you know that stuff doesn’t taste like the real deal. Our household has to be dairy free, thanks to allergies, so we have to do what we have to do. Tonight’s macaroni will have a Daiya shreds base, with sautéed vegetables mixed in.

Tuesday – Taco Tuesday! Hard shells are all the rage with Superkiddo lately. I don’t know why; I just go with it.

Wednesday – Crockpot Jambalaya! Oh, yes! We must pull out our Love Bowl again this week, and I am so excited!

Thursday – Turkey Meatball Subs. I was inspired by another bloggy friend who made buffalo styled subs, but I cannot find her recipe… We will see if my jumbled memory version turns out okay.

Friday – Well, dinner will be out…somewhere… but I am still researching fun ideas for Superkiddo’s party in his classroom. There’s nothing like waiting until the last possible moment to get those treats together, right?

Thanks to Superkiddo’s food allergies, and crazy preferences (“I like sweet potatoes, but I don’t like sweet potato tots” or “I like macaroni and angel hair, but I hate all other pastas.”), I have to be a creative food detective. I’d bet that it would be much easier for households without allergies because you would have so many more options. This mama often gets frustrated… I don’t want boring, repeat meals. I’d seriously outsource the menu planning and cooking duties if I thought that it would yield more interesting options. I will continue my quest to find the best, allergy safe, kid friendly dinners around. Meanwhile, if anyone has Ina’s phone number, invite her to cook at my house…

Until next time,
xoxo

9 thoughts on “Menu Planning Gets Desperate

  1. Sounds like a decent menu to me! Our list this week consists of Turkey & Rice, Lasagna, Leftovers, Pizza, Meatballs, Tomato Soup and…. Tacos! (Just not on Tuesday 😉 )

  2. I’m going to 100% agree with you about vegan cheese. I usually love vegan items but the cheese just isn’t working for me. This is my first week of a real menu plan and so far, so good. We had shredded beef tacos last night and tonight is chicken with gravy. I usually don’t even eat with the family as food isn’t much of an interest to me these days, but they seemed to enjoy dinner last night.

    • Isn’t the cheese awful? UGH lol
      I wish you well in your menu planning. It can be tedious at first, but it ultimately save so much time in the long run.
      Thanks for stopping by! xoxo

Leave a Reply

