Life Lessons with Dogs

My house has gone to the dogs. Literally. The Bald Genius thought that it would be a fabulous idea to purchase a Great Dane 3 years ago. He brought her home, and left (OK, the real story is that he was deployed, but my version is more dramatic). Just when I thought that our doggy days couldn’t get any crazier, we adopted a 1-year-old Boxer. There is rarely a dull moment around here, and in the midst of the craziness, I found that maybe I could learn a few things from the furry goobers.
Dog Day

Make a Good Day.
If you aren’t a dog person, you may not know this. Dogs love life! Most are happy by nature. If they have food, water, shelter, and love, it is a good day. I think we humans have a tendency to see what is missing, or wrong in our day, and forget to just be happy. Things may not always go our way, but we can decide to make each day a good day.

A Good Run Rocks.
If your dog is being destructive, or suffering from selective listening skills, have you checked their activity level?Β  When a puppy gets adequate exercise, it tends to behave appropriately. Have you ever noticed how much better you feel after your favorite exercise of choice? I can remain focused on all of my necessary tasks after I exert some energy and sweat.

Bury the Bone. My poor backyard and garden take so much abuse from these dogs! If these pooches are given anything that they value, they race to the backyard to bury it. It may stay buried a day, or several weeks. They will dig it up when they need it (or whenever they happen to remember it). I am finding that each generation is learning less about investing and saving, but more about consuming. It is easy to get caught up in the hype of the newest, coolest gadgets and fads, but nothing material should ever jeopardize our well-being or future. Make the time to put away money for your rainy day.

Forgive, Forget, Love, & Live. Our second dog, the Boxer, was rescued from less than favorable conditions. Her foster family showered her with praise and love, and she is now a new dog. She doesn’t dwell on her past of being abandoned, but instead looks forward to all of the hugs and love of her daily life. There are times, and people, in our lives that downright stink. We could carry the baggage of hurt, scars, bad memories, and bitterness, or we could decide to forgive, forget, move on, and enjoy life.

These girls keep the love flowing around here. It seems as if they cannot help it. If we leave the house 5 minutes or 5 hours, the dogs are always elated and grateful to see us. These crazy pooches are quick to forgive, and eager to love. Guess what: we should be the very same way. I am not suggesting that you charge the door, and drool all over your loved ones when they arrive (although that might be hilarious). It may make life a bit more enjoyable, and less stressful, if we all make the effort to create good days, make the time to exercise, invest in our futures, and love freely.

I am daily reminded to take a break from the demands of my schedule, and to just enjoy life. I am grateful for these lessons from the furry critters in my home, and I hope that you find your inspiration to have your best week.

Until next time,
xoxo

8 thoughts on “Life Lessons with Dogs

  1. When you arrive for Fitbloggin’ I am going to charge you at airport security and drool on you. I think it will be so hot you will be grateful for the the refreshment. πŸ™‚

  2. I love this. Some great life lessons to be learned from our dogs. I just wish I wasn’t crazy enough to have 3 of my own.

Leave a Reply

